Argovia is a rock band from Bogotá, Colombia. It was founded as a project in 2013 by multi-instrumentalist Ani Guillén (Guitars, Drums, Bass, Vocals) and keyboardist and music producer Carlos Arminio.

The project began with the creation of an EP titled “Lost Letters” (2014), which earned them a nomination for EP of the year at the Unión Rock Show awards. In 2017, they produced their debut album “Distant Present” (2017) which was mastered by Toni Lindgren (Fascination Street Studios). “Waves,” the flagship song of this production, received radio play and was well-received by the local audience. “Distant Present” enabled them to tour several cities in Colombia, including Cali and Medellín, and solidify their participation in Prog In Motion 2017, the only local progressive festival. Furthermore, “Distant Present” was reviewed on various specialized music portals and allowed the band to transcend borders in terms of listeners.

At the end of 2022, Ani (Guitar and Vocals) and Carlos (keyboards) began producing their new studio material, citing influences such as Porcupine Tree, Riverside, The Gathering, VOLA, Steven Wilson, and Karnivool. Their challenge is to bring a rock proposal that can resonate with an audience not typically dedicated to progressive music, resulting in a completely renewed production that combines elements of progressive rock and modern metal. With this more mature and powerful sound, ARGOVIA recruits new members and collaborators. Felipe Candia, former drummer of the renowned Chilean progressive rock band Aisles, performed remote drum tracking for all tracks of this new production; Nicolás Paredes (The Vue) later joined the project.

ARGOVIA worked on their new production with Alejandro Londoño (Cultura Tres, Delain, Sepultura) handling the mixing and Steve Kitch, keyboardist of The Pineapple Thief, another flagship band of modern progressive, taking care of the mastering. This collaboration marked a shift from symphonic and digital elements towards a more mature, raw, and rock-oriented sound.

The band released 4 singles: Oceanborn, Who We Are, Crawling Is The Shape of Love, and The Devil You Are, as a prelude to their EP ‘WHO WE ARE,’ released 7th March, 2024.

The EP can be ordered digitally from bandcamp here:

Who We Are | Argovia (

The band has been reviewed and recognized by the largest progressive community in Latin America, “Nación Progresiva,” as “one of the great promises of Latin American prog.” The single ‘WHO WE ARE’ was nominated for the best Ibero-American single of 2023 in the Progressive Rock category. It has been featured on playlists selected by specialized curators of the genre such as The Prog Report, Progressive Latin America (curated by Felix Martin),, and Best New Prog Rock 2000-2023 (curated by Presagio Records).


Ani Guillén (Vocals, Guitar, Percussion) Carlos Arminio (Keyboards and Synthesizers) Nicolás Paredes (Bass) Mauricio Sanabria (Drums).


Spotify: artist/30eoDK4DOQuTQuzJeaqEJM?si=f9eXTlb6SSqtxCxtWIe8 7Q Bandcamp:

Apple Music:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.