MOLYBARON release new single “Breakdown” from upcoming new album SOMETHING OMINOUS

Something Ominous will be released on the 15th September (InsideOutMusic) / Touring Europe with SOEN in September/October.

Album pre-order begins today!

French/Irish alternative rock-metal outfit MOLYBARON, known for their energetic, hard-hitting sound, will release their new album Something Ominous on September 15th on InsideOutMusic/Sony Music. The announcement of the new album comes following the success of the recent single and video “Something Ominous.”

Over the course of two subtly radical records, 2017’s self-titled debut and 2021’s acclaimed The Mutiny, this eclectic quartet have casually bent and broken all the usual rules of modern heaviness. 

In 2023, they return with their third and most fervently diverse record to date, Something Ominous: further evidence that MOLYBARON are operating in a field of precisely one. 

When MOLYBARON released The Mutiny in 2021, the world was still reeling from the effects of a global pandemic. Nonetheless, the album struck its mark with ease, garnering countless glowing reviews and comparisons to the likes of System Of A Down, Tool and Muse. Two years on, Something Ominous reveals a band that have sharpened their focus and found their groove. Comprising ten succinct and characterful songs, which range from thunderous acts of aggression to noirish, mutant balladry, MOLYBARON’s third full-length is invigorating and immersive in equal measure.

“I don’t think our sound can be defined by one genre,” says guitarist/vocalist Gary Kelly .“It’s certainly not by design. I write and produce all the music in the band, but I’m strange – I never really listen to music. I have no idea what’s hot or what’s not these daysI suppose this makes it easier for me to create songs, I’m not trying to mirror any one style, I just write as it comes to meprobably based on what I hear floating in the ether; in the cinema, on the TV, on the elevator, it really doesn’t matter!” 

MOLYBARON are also pleased to share the second single from the album. 

You can check out the lyric video for “Breakdown” here:

“Breakdown” is a heavy, pop-tinged track, with lyrics conveying the struggle of a mind on the edge of collapse, capturing a sense of isolation, confusion, and vulnerability that accompanies these dark moments. A rousing, emotional mix of melodies, driven by aggressive guitar riffs, crushing bass, and electronic synth-scapes, “Breakdown” is invigorating and immersive in equal measure. 

The album is available for pre-order now here:


1 Something Ominous 4:07

2 Set Alight 3:26

3 Billion Dollar Shakedown 3:39

4 Breakdown 3:17

5 Anyway 4:15

6 Daylight Dies In Darkness 4:07

7 Dead On Arrival 3:22

8 Pendulum 3:35

9 Reality Show 4:18

10 Vampires 3:46

SOMETHING OMINOUS comes as CD in sleeve pack, 180g black LP in 12’’ inch vinyl sleeve and digital album.

Check out the video for the previous single “Something Ominous” here:

In addition, MOLBYARON will support SOEN on their upcoming MEMORIAL TOUR 2023 in Europe, starting September 20th

Formed in Paris, early 2015, by Dublin-born singer/guitarist Gary Kelly, MOLYBARON have become one of the most talked-about bands in the modern metal scene.

Fusing together elements of alt rock, hard rock, and modern metal to create an eclectic, sonically dynamic experience, MOLYBARON deliver an intensely raw, original musical signature, appealing to fans across the genres.


Gary Kelly – Guitar/Vocals

Florian Soum – Lead Guitar

Sébastien de Saint-Angel – Bass

Camille Greneron – Drums