Lonely Robot launch ‘Recalibrating’, first single from forthcoming new studio album ‘A Model Life’ 

Lonely Robot, the project masterminded by vocalist, guitarist & producer John Mitchell, recently announced the release of their fifth studio album ‘A Model Life’ on the 26th August 2022. Today, sees the launch of the album’s first single, ‘Recalibrating’. Listen to the track now here:

John comments: “A post apocalyptic breakup…the world you once knew has burned to the ground like Nero’s Rome. The only thing for it is to move forward and reset your mind. To ‘recalibrate’ if you will.” 

An album that brims with frustration at the state of things, while tugging remorselessly at the heart strings, A Model Life is plainly the most honest and vulnerable Lonely Robot record to date. From opener Recalibrating, which muses on the aftermath of a broken relationship, and Digital God Machine – a sardonic tribute to keyboard warriors everywhere, to the boys-don’t-cry pathos of Rain Kings and the absurdly moving, adoption-themed Duty Of Care, these new songs provide a scattershot but profoundly emotional soundtrack to a restless and uncertain world.

John comments: “Making ‘A Model Life’ was very much a lifeline and indeed wake up call at the end of a particularly personally challenging couple of years. Creating it made me realise that ultimately, life is impermanent and the one true thing that gives me a focus and anchor is and has always been music. Long may that be the case.” 

The album will be available as Limited CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP+CD & as Digital Album. Pre-order now here:

Lonely Robot – Recalibrating (lnk.to)

The full track-listing is as follows:

1.     Recalibrating00:05:02
2.     Digital God Machine00:06:08
3.     Species In Transition00:06:19
4.     Starlit Stardust00:05:48
5.     The Island Of Misfit Toys00:04:18
6.     A Model Life00:05:27
7.     Mandalay00:01:56
8.     Rain Kings00:06:33
9.     Duty Of Care00:06:24
10.  In Memoriam00:05:53

A lone soldier on the frontlines of creativity, John Mitchell has been at the forefront of forward-thinking and progressive rock for decades now. As a member of such revered prog ensembles as It Bites, Arena, Frost* and his own projects Kino and The Urbane, he has become a uniquely vital contributor to the modern scene, while his credentials as a producer for countless contemporary rock acts are unquestionable. But since 2015, John has been operating under name Lonely Robot: a solo project in all but name, it has enabled him to fully express his own musical vision, via some of the most vivid and fascinating music of his career to date.