Jon Hunt announces his new album ‘An Explosion Of Nothing’ set to release on 09/08/24 via Seven Notch Records

Pre-orders will open through Bandcamp on 05/07/24.

‘An Explosion Of Nothing’ is Jon’s fourth full-length album. It’s 46 minutes (ten tracks) of eclectic music, and his first major release since his ‘Emergency Call EP’ in 2019. It includes the singles ‘Conjure Something’ and ‘Penultimate’ (to be released 05/07/24).

Jon’s music has been played on Tom Robinson’s prime-time BBC6 Music show, and also by Gideon Coe on the same channel. His 2015 ‘Morning Sun’ compilation (featuring songs from his first three albums) had overwhelmingly positive reviews including ‘Classic Rock’ and ‘Prog’ magazines.

Programmed as a musical and lyrical journey, the album has a sound and feel which is obviously rooted in the 21st century, but with a spirit that hearkens back to some of the more ambitious albums of the past. Experimental, post and progressive rock flavours sit alongside industrial beats, yearning acoustic numbers, and quirky psychedelia. In one particular case all in the same song!

Says Jon: “I can’t stand using artists and bands as reference points, as a lot of my favourites have completely changed styles over the years. In terms of kindred albums to this one I’d probably have to mention the likes of ‘Jehovahkill’ by Julian Cope, ‘Hand. Cannot. Erase.’ by Steven Wilson and ‘Odludek’ by Jimi Goodwin (Doves) – if only in terms of musical variety and the album being a ‘journey’ that you can immerse yourself in.”

‘An Explosion Of Nothing’ will be released on Friday 9th August 2024 on all steaming services, plus CD in a digipak containing a 16 page lyric/artwork booklet for those that still prefer a physical product.

Track listing:

01 Bait & Switch 5:18

02 Conjure Something 4:52

03 Resonance 2:39

04 Lift To The Ritual 2:54

05 Dionysus Appears Close To The A36 5:39

06 Engaged/Living Life In Acres 7:10

07 So Much Mouth, So Little To Say 4:30

08 Strawberries & Milk (Engaged II) 3:26

09 Penultimate 5:17

10 Wonderful Life


All words and music written by Jon Hunt.

Jon Hunt: Vocals, guitars (acoustic, electric, 12-string and bass), keyboards, samples &percussion.

Huw James (Carcrash Casino): Drums on tracks 1, 6 and 9.

Engineers: Jon Hunt, Sam Dyson, Simon Kitts, Tim Kramer, Jon Clayton, Dave Shalloe

Produced and mixed by Jon Hunt.

Mastered by Steve Kitch at Steve Kitch Mastering.


2008: Truth & Bullshit

2011: Wanderlust

2013: So Much Promise

2015: Morning Sun (Compilation of tracks from first three albums)

2019: Emergency Call EP

Artist photography by Daniel Selway.